Special Purpose Districts – Crime Control and Prevention District and Fire Control, Prevention, and Emergency Medical Services District

In October 2017, the Town Council appointed seven members to serve on a Special Purpose District committee to review options available for a possible reallocation of the Town’s local sales tax.  The committee studied options available for the creation of special purpose districts that could utilize a portion of the Town’s local sales tax revenue.

Upon completion of the meetings, the committee made a recommendation to the Town Council to reallocate the Town’s sales tax and to create two Special Purpose Districts:  a Crime Control and Prevention District, and a Fire Control, Prevention, and Emergency Medical Services District.

A reallocation of the Town’s sales tax would require voter approval in an election to be held in May 2018 to consider the creation of the Special Purpose Districts.


Voter Education Brochure


Mayor Pro-Tem Curry Vogelsang serves as President of the Temporary Board of Directors of the two Districts.  Curry may be reached at curry_vogelsang@prospertx.gov

The Town’s Finance Director, Kelly Neal, serves as the staff liaison for the Special Purpose Districts.  Kelly may be reached at kelly_neal@prospertx.gov or 972-569-1019.

2018 Special Purpose District Board Agendas, Packets, and Minutes

Jan 29, 2018 Agenda Packet Minutes
Jan 22, 2018 Agenda Packet Minutes

2017 Special Purpose District Committee Agendas, Packets, and Minutes

Nov 27, 2017 Agenda Packet Minutes
Nov 13, 2017 Agenda Packet Minutes
Nov 6, 2017 Agenda Packet Minutes
Oct 30, 2017 Agenda Packet Minutes