Voters to elect Council member in runoff

May 31, 2018

Voters in Prosper have some unfinished business at the ballot box as a runoff is scheduled to fill a seat on the Town Council.

Eligible citizens will be asked to vote for either Craig Andres or Chris Kern to occupy Place 2 on the Town Council.  The incumbent, Kenneth Dugger, opted not to run for reelection after serving on Council since 2007.  The winner of the runoff will begin a three-year term once votes are tabulated and certified.  The Mayor and all Council members are elected at-large, representing the Town as a whole.

Election Day is Saturday, June 16 when polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.  On Election Day, residents of the portion of Prosper in Collin County, specifically Precincts 199, 178, 224, 214, may vote at the Town’s Municipal Chambers, 108 W. Broadway Street, or in any other Collin County polling location.

Conversely, residents of the portion of Prosper in Denton County, specifically Precinct 1044, must cast their Election Day ballots at Prosper Fire Station No. 2, 1140 S. Teel Parkway.

As in all elections, Early Voting is offered, where voters may cast their ballots at a location of their choice.

For example, Collin County residents may vote early at the Collin County Elections Office, 2010 Redbud Blvd., Ste. 102 in McKinney; Allen Municipal Courts Facility, 301 Century Parkway in Allen; Anna City Hall, 111 N. Powell Parkway in Anna; and Prosper Municipal Chambers, 108 W. Broadway in Prosper.

Denton County residents may vote early at the Denton County Elections Administration Office, 701 Kimberly Drive in Denton; Flower Mound Police and Court Building, 4150 Kirkpatrick in Flower Mound; Lewisville Municipal Annex, 1197 W. Main St. in Lewisville; Denton Civic Center, 321 E. McKinney in Denton; and Prosper Fire Station No. 2, 1140 S. Teel St. in Prosper.

See or for more information.

Early Voting occurs at these locations from June 4 to 9 starting at 8 a.m., ending at 5 p.m.  Additionally, Collin County voters may vote until 7 p.m. on June 7.  Early Voting on June 11 and 12 occurs from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voters need not have voted in the General Election to vote in the Runoff Election.  During the General Election of May 5, Council member Jason Dixon won reelection, and two Special Purpose Districts were approved by voters.  Information on the Districts may be obtained by clicking on:

Read news release here