
 
DRIVER SAFETY COURSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 
YOU MUST SUBMIT THE ATTACHED REQUEST FORM TO THE COURT ALONG WITH THE AFFIDAVIT IN 
ORDER TO REQUEST A DRIVER SAFETY COURSE 
 
SEND THE COMPLETED FORM AND AFFIDAVIT TO: 
 
PROSPER MUNICIPAL COURT 
PO BOX 307 
PROSPER, TX 75078 
 
MUST INCLUDE: 
 
COPY OF VALID TEXAS DRIVERS LICENSE 
COPY OF INSURANCE LISTING YOU AS AN INSURED DRIVER 
PAYMENT: 
 
$144.00 IF NOT IN SCHOOL ZONE 
 
$169.00 IF VIOLATION IS IN SCHOOL ZONE 
 
PAYMENT MAY BE IN THE FORM OF YOUR PERSONAL CHECK (NO BUSINESS CHECKS), MONEY 
ORDER OR CASHIER’S CHECK.  IF YOU DO NOT HAVE YOUR OWN PERSONAL CHECK, YOU WILL HAVE 
TO USE A MONEY ORDER OR CASHIER’S CHECK. 
 
 
 

PLEASE CALL THE COURT CLERK’S OFFICE TO VERIFY ELIGIBILITY AND PAYMENT AMOUNT AT 
972-347-3020 

 
 
 
 

INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE REJECTED 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 STATE OF TEXAS                                  §                                 CITATION OR CASE NUMBER: 
       VS                                                                                                                              
                                                              §   _____________________________________
                                                
____________________________________________        §                 OFFENSE DATE: 
 Defendant  (print your name) 
           _____________________________________ 
For the offense of 
________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                              (print the offense as listed on the citation) 
 
I enter my appearance by mail and waive my right to trial by jury or trial by court.  I understand that by entering a plea by mail, 
providing payment and required documents, my court appearance will be waived as long as accepted by the Municipal Court 
Judge.  Failure to include required documents and payment will result in my request being rejected.   I also understand that it is 
my responsibility to provide a current and valid address to the court at the time of this submittal. 
 
 

____1)Payment in full (total amount due is enclosed) _____ Guilty       ______No Contest 
        I understand that my plea will result in a conviction on either a criminal or driver license record.  Furthermore, If I have  
        posted a cash bond, I give my permission to apply my bond towards all or part of the fine and costs due. 
 
____2)No Contest plea and request deferred disposition – 90 days unsupervised probation (must include copy of Texas Driver  
        License and appropriate fee.  Must be eligible to make request.  If I am under the age of twenty-five (25) I will be  
        required to take a 6-hour driver safety course as a condition of the probation. 
         
__X_3)No Contest plea and request Driver Safety Course – 90 days to complete and turn in completion certificate for a six (6) 
        Hour driver safety course approved by the State of Texas.  I will also be required to submit a certified copy of my driving  
        record from the Department of Public Safety.   I must be eligible to take the course.  This request must include, a copy of 
        my current and valid Texas Driver License, a copy of my current liability insurance listing me as a covered driver and the   
        required fee.  DO NOT TAKE THE COURSE OR  REQUEST THE DRIVING RECORD UNTIL REQUEST AND PAYMENT  
        HAS BEEN RECEIVED AND APPROVED BY THE COURT. (PLEASE SEE ADDITIONAL ATTACHED FORMS) 
 
____No Contest plea and proof of compliance w/fee (see below) 

Expired Registration – must include 
1. copy of renewal receipt showing proof that penalty fee has been paid to the state at the time of renewal 
2. $20.00 dismissal fee (money order or cashier’s check) 

Expired Driver License – must include 
1. Proof of renewal (if renewal was online – must include both online receipt and copy of expired DL) 
2. $20.00 dismissal fee (money order or cashier’s check) 

Fail to Report Change of Address 
1. Proof of change 
2. $20.00 dismissal fee (money order or cashier’s check) 

Expired Disabled Parking Placard (if has been expired for less than 60 days) 
1. Placard renewal (copy of placard) 
2. Copy of valid driver’s license attached to placard application or a copy of the application 
3. $20.00 dismissal fee (money order or cashier’s check) 

 
 

I have read and understand my plea and understand that this plea and request must be received by the court at least 24 hours 
prior to my court date or I will be required to appear in court.  I also understand that it is my responsibility to follow all instructions 
returned to me by the court regarding my request and that I may contact the court at 972-347-3020 if I have any questions. 
 
Date________________________________ 
 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Defendant Signature                                                                                                     Phone 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Address                                                                                                                        City/State/Zip 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

DRIVER SAFETY COURSE AFFIDAVIT 
 
 

  CITATION NUMBER: _____________________  
 

  
 STATE OF TEXAS                                                                       IN THE MUNICIPAL COURT 
       VS                                                                                                                TOWN OF PROSPER 
                                                                                           COLLIN COUNTY, TEXAS 
 
 
______________________________________ 
Defendant (printed name) 
  

  

  

  

  

  
(THIS FORM MUST BE NOTARIZED OR SIGNED IN PERSON BEFORE THE COURT CLERK) 
  
  

A F F I D A V I T 
  
I, the above named defendant, state under oath that I was not in the process of taking a driving safety course or motorcycle 
operator training course, as applicable, under Art. 45.0511, Code of Criminal Procedure, on the date the request to take the 
course was made and had not completed such a course that is not shown on my driver's record as maintained by the Texas 
Department of Public Safety within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense, or if active military I haven't taken a driving 
safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense in any state. 
  
 
  
____________________________________         __________________________________ 
Defendant's Signature                            Current Address 
  
                                                  __________________________________ 
                                                  City/State/Zip 
  
                                                  __________________________________ 
                                                  Daytime Contact Number 
  
 
  
 Sworn and Subscribed before me, the undersigned authority on the ________ day of ____________________, 20_____. 
  
  
 
                                    
 
 
 
 
        ____________________________________ 
                                           Court Clerk or Notary Public 

 
 


